The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Texas A&M fans react after The Aggies win the NCAA Bryan-College Station Super Regional at Olsen Field on Sunday, June 9, 2024. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
The mad dash to Omaha
Ian Curtis, Sports Reporter • June 21, 2024

After Texas A&M baseball’s win over Florida sent the Aggies to their first Men’s College World Series Championship Series in program...

Texas A&M pitcher Ryan Prager (18) delivers a pitch during Texas A&M’s game against Kentucky at the NCAA Men’s College World Series at in Omaha, Nebraska on Monday, June 17, 2024. Prager went for 6.2 innings, allowing two hits and zero runs. (Chris Swann/The Battalion)
Sixth sense
June 18, 2024
Enjoying the Destination
Enjoying the Destination
Cara Hudson, Maroon Life Writer • June 17, 2024

For the history buffs, there’s a story to why Bryan and College Station are so closely intertwined. In 1871 when the Texas Legislature approved...

Chris Hemsworth as Dementus in Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga.
Review: ‘Furiosa’ is a must-see
Justin ChenJune 4, 2024

My jaw dropped open in 2016. Rarely in life does that happen, but the viewing experience of “Mad Max: Fury Road" was something to behold....

A&M cross country teams finish in top 10 at SEC Championships

The Texas A&M cross country teams finished in the top 10 of the SEC Championships, with the men finishing fifth and the women finishing ninth in Lexington, Kentucky on Friday, Nov. 1.
The men’s team earned a 14-15-16 finish. Senior Jon Bishop finished 14th with a time of 23:23.7, followed by sophomore Eric Casarez in 15th with 23:24.5 and junior Zephyr Seagraves in 16th with 23:25.0.
Bishop had the second-fastest time by an Aggie in the SEC Championships, coming up short to Henry Lelei’s 2012 championship time of 23:30.0.
“This was a very solid race for the men,” assistant coach Wendel McRaven told “Bishop, Casarez, and Seagraves did a great job rolling together and moving up.”
The five other Aggies competing finished strong, with sophomore Wes McPhail completing the race in 47th with a time of 24:18.7. Harrison Tillman placed 65th in 24:40.5 and Colton Colonna placed 66th in 24:41.4. Gavin Hoffpauir and Joel Potter finished 82nd and 87th with 25:02.9 25:14.1 respectively.
“Being only 20 points out of third is a positive and gives us a carrot to chase in preparation for the regional meet in two weeks,” McRaven said. “Ultimately, we had too big of a gap from our No. 3 man to our fourth and fifth man. Wes McPhail and Gavin Hoffpauir were involved in a collision early in the race that resulted in Gavin losing his shoe and then stopping to put it back on.”
On the women’s side, seniors Kelsie Warren and Ashley Driscoll led the team, finishing 11th and 12th. With Warren’s time of 20:40.5, she had a fifth-best effort for an Aggie runner in the SEC Championships, trailing former Aggies Hillary Montgomery’s 2014 record of 19:56.1, Karis Jochen’s 2014 and 2015 records of 19:59.2 and 20:00.8, and her own personal best of 20:25.0 in last year’s race.
“Warren and Driscoll ran like the senior leaders they are. They ran tough, poised races. They are running well when it matters,” McRaven told
Following Warren and Driscoll, sophomore Julia Black was the third Aggie runner in 51st with 21:27.9.
“We knew it was going to be a tight women’s team race after the first two teams, but nobody likes to come out in the short end of it,” McRaven told “Third place through ninth place was only separated by 30 points and fourth through ninth by 19 points. I told the women that that boils down to only a few seconds per runner. Those few seconds make a huge difference in how we feel walking away from the meet. We’ll work on a few things and be ready in two weeks to take care of business at regionals.”
Mississippi won on the men’s side, defeating Alabama for the title 35 to 90. On the women’s side, Arkansas won for the seventh consecutive year.
The Aggies will next race in the NCAA South Central Regional race on Nov. 15, at Agri Park in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *