The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Texas A&M utility Gavin Grahovac (9) throws the ball during A&Ms game against Georgia on Friday, April 26, 2024, at Olsen Field. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Southern slugfest
May 23, 2024
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
A fighter jet squadron flies over during the National Anthem before Texas A&M’s game against Arkansas at Olsen Field on Saturday, May 18, 2024. (Chris Swann/The Battalion)
Bryan-College Station Regional participants announced
Ian Curtis, Sports Writer • May 27, 2024

For the second time in three seasons, No. 3 national seed Texas A&M baseball will host the Bryan-College Station Regional, where it’ll...

Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

A&M wins 10 event titles as Gittens sets school record

Photo by Courtesy of Joey Ward, Aggieland Yearbook
Track and Field Texas A&M Team Invitational

The Texas A&M men’s and women’s track and field teams won 10 events as Tyra Gittens set a school record in the heptathlon Saturday at E.B. Cushing Stadium in front of over 1,200 fans.
The Aggies recorded nearly 20 personal bests, won 10 events and set four A&M all-time top-12 marks at the first outdoor meet hosted by A&M since April 27, 2019. Gittens finished with a school record of 6,274 points, bettering her previous school record by 200 points to currently lead the NCAA. They also set five facility records to set them up for next week’s meet as Baylor hosts the Michael Johnson Classic.
In the first day of competition, Gittens had 3,869 points including an all-conditions personal best 100-meter hurdles time of 13.14 (w/+3.5), a leap of 1.82m/5-11.5 in the high jump, a throw of 12.85m/42-2 in the shot put, and a win in the 200-meter with a all-conditions personal best time of 23.33 (w/4.4).
“Tyra is the finest athlete that has been on this campus ever,” A&M coach Pat Henry told “It’s early in the year, but she looks great.”
Gittens followed on Day 2 of the meet with a win in the javelin with a throw of 125-1/38.13m and placed second in the 800-meter at 2:28.52.
The women’s 4×400-meter made up of Tierra Robinson-Jones, Syaira Richardson, Charokee Young and Athing Mu ran a facility record time of 3:26.73, which is the fourth fastest in program history and the fastest all-time in a non-championship meet.
A&M placed five Aggies in the top six of the men’s 800-meter, which saw Brandon Miller run a personal best and facility record time of 1:48.25, currently No. 2 in the SEC. Carlton Orange came in second with a season best time of 1:48.40 and Moitalel Mpoke finished third with a time of 1:49.07.
“You have a freshman that won the 800-meter tonight with a personal best 1:48.25,” Henry told “Brandon is the kind of guy that if it would’ve taken 1:46, he would’ve won it.”
Devin Dixon finished fifth at 1:51.89 and Caden Norris ran a personal best of 1:51.91 to place sixth.
Connor Schulman won the 110-meter hurdles with a wind-legal time of 14.00, which broke the previous facility record by .64 seconds.
Lamara Distin won the women’s high jump at 6-0/1.83m, which bettered the facility record set the day before by teammate Gittens at 1.82m/5-11.5.
The men’s 4×100-meter relay made up of Ryan Martin, Lance Broome, Jace Comick and Emmanuel Yeboah won the event with a time of 39.91.
Richardson claimed the women’s 400-meter event title with a season-best time of 52.42.
Sean Clarke placed second in the pole vault at 17-9/5.41m, making him the eighth best pole vaulter in Aggie history. Alessio Pirruccio placed fourth in the men’s hammer throw with a toss of 185-8/56.60m which is fifth best in Aggie history.
The Aggies are scheduled to compete at the Michael Johnson Classic beginning Friday, April 16-17, at the Clyde Hart Track and Field Stadium in Waco.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *