The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Mexico fans react after Mexico F Julián Quiñones 73rd-minute goal during the MexTour match between Mexico and Brazil at Kyle Field on Saturday, June 8, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
‘The stuff of dreams’
Ian Curtis, Sports Reporter • June 11, 2024

As soon as the Mexico-Brazil soccer match at Kyle Field was announced, Jacob Svetz and Caitlin Falke saw an opportunity.  The match was scheduled...

Advertisement
The Fighting Texas Aggie Band performs at halftime during Texas A&Ms football game against ULM at Kyle Field on Saturday, Sept. 16, 2023.
Gridiron glory to multi-event marvel
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • June 7, 2024

Special teams: Special events  “My favorite thing about an event is seeing the people come into the stadium and seeing their excitement...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Chris Hemsworth as Dementus in Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga.
Review: ‘Furiosa’ is a must-see
Justin Chen June 4, 2024

My jaw dropped open in 2016. Rarely in life does that happen, but the viewing experience of “Mad Max: Fury Road" was something to behold....

Texas A&M pitcher Chris Cortez (10) reacts during Texas A&M’s game against Oregon at the NCAA Bryan-College Station Super Regional at Olsen Field on Saturday, June 8, 2024. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
One step away
June 8, 2024

A&M needs urgent self-reflection

Academic+Building
Photo by Photo by Meredith Seaver
Academic Building

“When people show you who they are, believe them the first time.” – Maya Angelou.
Texas A&M has had a rough year from a public relations point of view. As a student of this school, it is my responsibility to tell the truth about this institution. Unfortunately, based on what I have seen, my conclusion is heartbreaking and disappointing. In all honesty, there is no way I can recommend this university to a loved one.
One of A&M’s most prominent criticisms is how the school handles anything related to race. There is nothing defensible about an institution fostering an environment so toxic that the hashtag #RacismAtTAMUFeelsLike trended nationally on Twitter. A&M President Michael K. Young came out with a strongly worded email and 10 measures to address and basically “defeat” racism on campus. If there is not any transparency on how such measures will take effect, this is nothing but lip service. President Young can admit he has been affected by the “heart-wrenching stories posted by Aggies who have experienced racism first-hand on our campus.” However, giving a platform to known white nationalist and alt-right founder Richard Spencer only shows one of the reasons we got here in the first place.
Furthermore, while we’re on the topic of race, let’s talk about one of the most significant issues that shadowed A&M this year: the statue of Lawrence Sullivan Ross. To be clear, this year was not the first time this debate came to light. There were calls back in 1998 to remove the statue or at least show some balance by having a sculpture of Matthew Gaines erected as well. Obviously, there has been resistance, especially in 2018 when A&M System Chancellor John Sharp stated Ross “had NO ties to white supremacy” despite the overwhelming evidence stating otherwise. The blatant disregard and denial of facts alone should make Sharp ineligible to be a chancellor of a university promoting diversity. How can we grow as an institution if we are still debating the most simple facts? An institution built on a rotten foundation such as white supremacy can only last for so long.
Our rivals all the way in Austin came to the conclusion that symbols of hate shouldn’t be proudly displayed on campus. I know we try to do everything differently than UT Austin, but can this be one thing we actually both agree on? Do we as an institution not care at all for our Black students’ emotional pain realizing this school cares more for protecting this white supremacist statue than their well-being? These students are doing the heavy lifting of trying to bring the school into the 21st century, but the hostility they are met with is heartbreaking. The school claims we all bleed maroon and white, but forgets to mention the real emphasis is on the “white” part of that statement.
The administration of this university invents new ways to disappoint its students. It already provided us with a masterclass on mishandling sexual assault cases. It was not surprising to see the thousands of tweets with the hashtag #HateIsTheHiddenCoreValue this past summer. A&M later banned the tradition of chalking around the same time the student body began to voice their opinions about mistreatment on campus. I’m sure the timing was just a bizarre coincidence because an establishment promoting inclusion would never suppress its students and faculty’s speech, right?
I came to this university hoping to start the change I wanted to see and shift the negative narrative about A&M. However, after only a year of being here, it is evident the university has no desire to change. The culture here is so toxic that it counter-protests the Black Lives Matter movement with an idiotic phrase like Maroon Lives Matter. The culture is so ignorant and void of self-awareness that the counter-protestors sang Aggie War Hymn to drown out the “Black lives matter” cries. There is no way I can recommend this university to anyone I love. Being in the “Aggie network” is simply not worth it if you have to convince yourself that being disrespected is just part of the journey.
Ozioma Mgbahurike is an electrical engineering sophomore and opinion writer for The Battalion.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *