The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Texas A&M fans react after The Aggies win the NCAA Bryan-College Station Super Regional at Olsen Field on Sunday, June 9, 2024. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
The mad dash to Omaha
Ian Curtis, Sports Reporter • June 21, 2024

After Texas A&M baseball’s win over Florida sent the Aggies to their first Men’s College World Series Championship Series in program...

Texas A&M pitcher Ryan Prager (18) delivers a pitch during Texas A&M’s game against Kentucky at the NCAA Men’s College World Series at in Omaha, Nebraska on Monday, June 17, 2024. Prager went for 6.2 innings, allowing two hits and zero runs. (Chris Swann/The Battalion)
Sixth sense
June 18, 2024
Advertisement
Enjoying the Destination
Enjoying the Destination
Cara Hudson, Maroon Life Writer • June 17, 2024

For the history buffs, there’s a story to why Bryan and College Station are so closely intertwined. In 1871 when the Texas Legislature approved...

Advertisement
Chris Hemsworth as Dementus in Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga.
Review: ‘Furiosa’ is a must-see
Justin ChenJune 4, 2024

My jaw dropped open in 2016. Rarely in life does that happen, but the viewing experience of “Mad Max: Fury Road" was something to behold....

Netflix original Danish language TV series “Warrior” worth a watch

Warrior Review
Photo by Creative Commons
Warrior Review

The first episode of Netflix’s new Danish TV series “Warrior” looks to be the start of an intriguing and emotional story.
Following an undercover sting operation of a dangerous biker gang, the show tells the story of a police detective widowed by war and the former soldier she gets to go undercover. The first episode was emotional, interesting and suspenseful, and did an excellent job of setting up the rest of the series. By the end of the 47-minute episode, I was not only well acquainted with the characters and their emotional struggles, but also with the start of the story.
The series takes place in Copenhagen and the dialogue is all in Danish. As a result, I don’t feel it’s fair for me to comment on the quality of the actor’s performances. Reading what the actors say and trying to match the subtitles to their faces is decidedly different from experiencing the performances naturally. However, the actors did seem talented, and the translation was of a high enough quality not to be distracting. I can’t say with certainty that the actors delivered good performances, but they did at least seem to be acting well.
The characters themselves were quite interesting, and the show did seem very well-written. In one particularly emotional scene that highlights the series’ potential as a drama, the widowed detective’s child asks his deceased father’s commanding officer if he gave the order that got the boy’s father killed. The officer answers only “yes,” but the tears in his eyes and pained expression on his face tell an entire story of tragedy and loss.
Beyond the touching writing and intriguing story, the camerawork was exquisite. The entire episode was filmed with beautiful clarity, excepting only scenes where blurring was used intentionally for effect. Exciting angles and excellent lighting only made the episode more visually impressive.
I’ve always had trouble watching movies or TV in foreign languages. Something about disconnecting an actor’s words from their physical actions never sat right with me, and imperfect translations always leave me feeling like I’ve missed some of the connotative meaning behind pieces of dialogue. But while I was constantly aware that I was disconnected from the actors and the meaning behind their words, “Warrior” is a good enough show with a decent enough translation that the language barrier didn’t bother me as much as I was expecting it to. That’s a true testament to the strength of the show’s emotion and story.
There are six episodes of “Warrior” currently available on Netflix. So far I’ve only seen one, but it was good enough to make me break my usual English-language-only rule and give the other five episodes a try. I look forward to seeing how the tense and emotional story turns out, and I look forward to knowing what will become of the characters as they deal with the loss of a friend, a father and a husband. If the rest of the series is anything like the first episode, it should be an interesting watch.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *