The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Texas A&M starting pitcher/relief pitcher Emiley Kennedy (11) hands the ball to starting pitcher/relief pitcher Brooke Vestal (19) during Texas A&M’s game against Texas at the Austin Super Regional at Red and Charline McCombs Field in Austin, Texas, on Saturday, May 25, 2024. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Aggies’ comeback falls short in 9-8 loss to Longhorns
Luke White, Sports Editor • May 25, 2024

As the fifth inning drew to a close in Texas A&M softball’s Super Regional matchup with No. 1 Texas on Saturday, the Aggies found themselves...

Texas A&M utility Gavin Grahovac (9) throws the ball during A&Ms game against Georgia on Friday, April 26, 2024, at Olsen Field. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Southern slugfest
May 23, 2024
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The Battalion May 4, 2024

A&M Student Media claims 30 awards, high honors at 2024 TIPA

Ana Renfroe
A collection of the awards presented by the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association.

Last weekend, the Texas Intercollegiate Press Associated presented Texas A&M Student Media with 30 awards at the 2024 convention in San Marcos.

Aggie journalists from The Battalion and The Aggieland Yearbook claimed awards in multiple categories including writing, photography, design and advertising for content published in 2023. 

Against the odds, The Battalion claimed 1st place in Best of Show for website design. Staff celebrated the victory after The Battalion recently redesigned its entire website in December 2023 and January.

Graphics editor Pranay Dhoopar, senior news reporter Nicholas Gutteridge and former Photo Chief Ishika Samant were recognized for their individual excellence. Dhoopar and Gutteridge received 2nd place for Designer and Reporter of the Year, respectively. Samant received an honorable mention for Photojournalist of the Year.

While half of the convention consists of students attending workshops, TIPA hosts a variety of live contests conducted at an on-site or nearby location. These events are highly competitive since attending colleges are limited to only one contestant per category.

Three students each earned 2nd in their categories. Associate sports editor Hunter Mitchell won in Headline Writing, and assistant advertising manager Hamsini Mahadevan won in Print Advertising. Head news editor Ana Renfroe won in Print News Writing, earning her place on the podium in the most competitive category.

Additionally, Renfroe helped plan the TIPA convention as student president. Renfroe was elected vice president in March 2023 alongside former president Megan Williams, former editor-in-chief of The Aggieland Yearbook, who served until earlier this year.

Student Media Director Spencer O’Daniel said the enthusiasm from students attending was incredible from start to finish. O’Daniel said he was proud of the number of awards, adding it was a sign of positive growth within Student Media.

“Overall, I was really happy that eight of our best Student Media staffers took time out of their busy spring schedules to attend,” O’Daniel said. “These conferences are really great bonding moments for your staff, so I know TIPA will always be a priority in our program for years to come.”

To support the award-winning, independent student publications, donate to The Battalion through the Friends of The Battalion, a nonprofit organization. The Battalion also accept donations through its website,

The full list of awards earned by The Battalion and Aggieland Yearbook is available below:


1st Place

Best of Show Website: The Batt Online,

Special Edition Online Design: Ishika Samant, Ruben Hernandez, Megan Williams, Caleb Elizondo, “A Page torn from A&M Journalism”

2nd Place

Designer of the Year: Pranay Dhoopar

In-depth Reporting: Nicholas Gutteridge, “Title IX fails A&M students”

Live Contest – Print Advertising: Hamsini Mahadevan

Live Contest – Headline Writing: Hunter Mitchell

Live Contest – Print News Writing: Ana Renfroe

Op/Editorial Design: Megan Williams, “We have work to do”

Yearbook Overall Design: Megan Williams, The Aggieland (2023)

Newspaper Overall Design: Ishika Samant, Pranay Dhoopar, Megan Williams, Zoe May, Basketball’s Back”

Newspaper Cover Design: Ishika Samant, Pranay Dhoopar, “Basketball’s back”

Newspaper Sports Design: Ishika Samant

Reporter of the Year: Nicholas Gutteridge

Static Ad Design: Carmen Horrillo Tamayo, “Flora 40/50”

3rd Place

Advertising Campaign: Carmen Horrillo Tamayo, Maroon Life Housing Guide advertising campaign for RPM Living

Breaking News Photo: Ishika Samant, “Romero Memorial”

Feature Photo: Samuel Falade, “Keeper of the Archives”

General Column: Benjamin Barnes, “A zombie virus is spreading at A&M”

General News Photo: Samuel Falade, “March for Palestine”

Sports Action Photo: Chris Swann, “Quarterback rush”

Sports Feature Photo: CJ Smith, “Game point”

Newspaper Feature Design: Ishika Samant, “Horsing around”

Newspaper Overall Excellence: The Battalion

Yearbook Overall Excellence: Megan Williams, The Aggieland (2023)

Honorable mentions

Best Use of Social Media – Breaking News: Chris Swann, Sophie Villarreal, Ishika Samant, Luke White, “Bjork presser on A&M football”

Editorial: Michaela Rush, Caleb Elizondo, Ruben Hernandez, “PRINT IS [still] NOT DEAD”

Photojournalist of the Year: Ishika Samant

Photo Story: Ishika Samant, Chris Swann, “Brazos Valley celebrates its annual Fair and Rodeo”

Yearbook Sports Spread Design: Megan Williams, Luke White, Robert O’Brien, “Tech gets wrecked”

Website Overall Excellence: The Batt Online,

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributor
Ana Renfroe
Ana Renfroe, Head News Editor
Ana Renfroe, Class of 2025, is a journalism junior with a minor in professional writing from Bryan, Texas. Ana has served as The Battalion's head news editor from May 2023 to May 2024. Previously, she was the assistant news editor for the spring 2023 semester. Ana has covered breaking news, politics, and more. She typically covered the Texas A&M System and university administration, Texas and Bryan-College Station politics, student government and more. Ana previously hosted and produced episodes of The Batt Signal, The Battalion's news podcast. Additionally, she was a copyeditor and feature writer for Maroon Life magazine, and helped contribute to the Aggieland Yearbook.
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *