The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Junior P Emily Kennedy (11) winds up to pitch during Texas A&Ms game against Kentucky on April 7th, 2024 at Davis Diamond. (Jaime Rowe/The Battalion)
Took the Tide
April 15, 2024
Junior P Emily Kennedy (11) winds up to pitch during Texas A&Ms game against Kentucky on April 7th, 2024 at Davis Diamond. (Jaime Rowe/The Battalion)
Took the Tide
April 15, 2024
Junior G Wade Taylor IV (4) covers his face after a missed point during Texas A&Ms game against Arkansas on Feb. 20, 2024 at Reed Arena. (Jaime Rowe/The Battalion)
When it rains, it pours
February 24, 2024
Ali Camarillo (2) waiting to see if he got the out during Texas A&Ms game against UIW on Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2024 at Olsen Field. (Hannah Harrison/The Battalion)
Four for four
February 20, 2024
Advertisement
Dr. Weston Porter (top left) and researchers from the breast cancer lab. (Photo courtesy of Dr. Weston Porter)
New A&M research initiative provides cutting-edge cancer treatments
J.M. Wise, News Reporter • April 8, 2024

It has been 20 months since Michelle Pozzi, Ph.D, of Texas A&M’s Biochemistry and Biophysics department was diagnosed with cancer. However,...

Advertisement
Junior P Emily Kennedy (11) winds up to pitch during Texas A&Ms game against Kentucky on April 7th, 2024 at Davis Diamond. (Jaime Rowe/The Battalion)
Took the Tide
Kylie Stoner, Associate Sports Editor • April 15, 2024

After a close pitching battle in the beginning of the matchup, Texas A&M softball defeated 9-4 Alabama to take the series on Monday, April...

Advertisement
Visitors attend Homegrown at Northgate, an annual farmers and artisan market on Sunday, April 16, 2024. (Samuel Falade/The Battalion)
Homegrown brings food trucks, local vendors, live music to Northgate
Nadia Abusaid, Life & Arts Writer • April 15, 2024

A cool breeze flows on a Sunday as people listen to the strums of a guitar and smooth vocals. People stroll past stands and food trucks, stopping...

Advertisement
Guest contributor says students pose an unacceptable danger to local motorists. (Photo via Nile/Pixabay)
Letter to the editor: No-More-Student-Drivers
Trey Bass, Guest Contributor • April 15, 2024

Dear Editor,  I am writing to discuss the current state of our city and some glaring issues I have noticed being perpetrated on the innocent...

Editorial: Respect student journalism

The+Battalions+editorial+staff+addresses+the+importance+of+respecting+the+work+produced+by+student+journalists.%26%23160%3B
Photo by Robert O’Brien

The Battalion’s editorial staff addresses the importance of respecting the work produced by student journalists. 

Respect is an Aggie Core Value. Plagiarism and copyright infringement are not.
From national broadcasters to our own peers, The Battalion has faced too many instances in which our work has been stolen. And we’re tired of it.
Student journalism is hard enough, from getting called “amateurs” to having doors literally closed in our faces, but having others use our work with neither permission nor credit is the icing that sends the cake toppling over. We may be a bunch of 20-somethings huddling in a windowless basement until 1 a.m. working on Google Docs and Adobe InDesign, but that does not make us any less professional, hard working or — God forbid — passionate than the reporters over at the New York Times. We practice AP Style, the most widely used journalist writing style, too. We break hard news and investigate, too. We follow media law and ethics, too. We report on nationally recognized issues, too. So do not treat us like we don’t know what we’re doing or we don’t deserve the same amount of credit and respect.
In fairness, sometimes we do get it wrong. Every newsroom does, and we’re not above our own flaws. But if you don’t like our content or wish things were done differently, please, feel free to come work for us or leave us some constructive criticism. Don’t mistake the work of a student as an opportunity to illegally use quality content as if it is your property.
And if you do like our work, wonderful. We appreciate compliments and praise (and retweets, too!). But don’t steal our articles, quotes, photographs, graphics or videos and republish them as your own. That is not only illegal and unethical, but it is downright disrespectful. Excellence is something Aggies take very seriously, and we, at The Battalion, work our hardest to produce the best content possible for our audience. We Respect our readers by providing the most transparent coverage of notable events, weather and sports, and we ask for Respect in return by recognizing the importance of student journalism.
Thanks for the backward compliments, but next time, please ask first. After all, Aggies do not lie, cheat or steal — or tolerate those who do.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *