The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Texas A&M infielder Trinity Cannon (6) reacts during Texas A&M’s game against Texas at the Austin Super Regional at Red and Charline McCombs Field in Austin, Texas, on Friday, May 24, 2024. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Aggies a win away from Women’s College World Series after 6-5 victory over Longhorns
Luke White, Sports Editor • May 24, 2024

Texas A&M softball experienced every inch of the pendulum of emotions in its NCAA Super Regional matchup with Texas on Friday, May 24, but...

Texas A&M utility Gavin Grahovac (9) throws the ball during A&Ms game against Georgia on Friday, April 26, 2024, at Olsen Field. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Southern slugfest
May 23, 2024
Texas A&M pitcher Evan Aschenbeck (53) reacts after throwing the final strike out during Texas A&M’s game against Mississippi State on Saturday, March 23, 2024, at Olsen Field. (Chris Swann/ The Battalion)
Down but not out
May 23, 2024
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

From the Student Body President: An open letter to Aggieland


The Core Values of Texas A&M Monument was installed at the West side of Kyle Field in 2015.

The Aggie Spirit flows through us all. We may not see it, but we can always feel it. Standing on the pedestal of our core values, The Spirit of Aggieland is etched in respect, excellence, leadership, loyalty, integrity and selfless service. These values exemplify what it means to be an Aggie and aim to celebrate all that is Aggieland.
Recently, multiple instances of derogatory comments and slurs aimed at several of our minority and underrepresented communities have been made via social media. Our Vice President and Associate Provost for Diversity, Dr. Robin Means Coleman, mentioned in her recent letter to students a powerful quote echoing that people are “sick and tired of being sick and tired.” Unfortunately, I believe this rings true for us all.
Today I, as your Student Body President, joined by student leaders from across our campus, condemn these acts as abhorrent and unacceptable. We firmly believe in the beauty of the United States Constitution and everyone’s First Amendment rights. Aggieland, it is on us to use ours to say these actions do not represent our core values. Going forward, it’s on us to respond directly yet civilly to these acts with the true Aggie Spirit.
Aggieland, let’s continue to push this campus forward! We have the opportunity to do so much good during our time here to unite our community. Join myself and several student leaders by condemning any speech that misrepresents what it means to be an Aggie.
BTHO hate,
Mikey Jaillet ’20 – Student Body President
Karsten Lowe ’20 – Head Yell Leader
Ahmed Gad ’20 – Multicultural Greek Council President
Christina Morrison ’20 – Chair, Student Affairs Fees Advisory Board
Chaide Wynn ’21 – Black Student Alliance Council President
Eric Mendoza ’21 – Speaker of the Student Senate
Ann Elizabeth Tebow ’20 – Student Athlete Advisory Committee President
Elisa Tseng ’20 – International Student Association President
Oriana Koot ’21 – Memorial Student Center President
Samuel Kotch ’20 – Executive Director of Class Councils
Katie Deutsch ’20 – Aggie Network Student Ambassadors – President
Adam Rodriguez ’22 – Aggie Orientation Leader Program
Jack Moody ’20 – Interfraternity Council President
Luis Saldana ’20 – Hispanic Presidents’ Council
Ryan Brown ’20 – Head Director of Fish Camp
Elizabeth Liu ’20 – Editor-In-Chief of Aggieland Yearbook
Madison Pratt ’20 – Collegiate Panhellenic Council President
Bria Perkins ’19 – Residential Housing Association President
Ruben Tillman Jr. ’20- National Pan-Hellenic Council President
Matthew Nguyen ’20 – Asian Presidents’ Council President
Levi D. McClenny ’14 – Texas A&M System Student Regent
Purna Doddapaneni ’20 – Graduate and Professional Student Government
Gregory W. Cross ’20- Campus Ministry Association
Luke P. Thomas ’20 – Corps of Cadets Commander

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *