The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Sophomore LHP Shane Sdao (38) reacts after a strikeout during Texas A&Ms game against Texas at Disch-Falk Field on Tuesday, March 5, 2024. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
A Sunday salvage
May 12, 2024
Advertisement
The Northgate district right adjacent to the Texas A&M campus houses a street of bars and other restaurants.  
Programs look to combat drunk driving
Alexia Serrata, JOUR 203 contributor • May 10, 2024
Advertisement
Junior Mary Stoiana reacts during Texas A&M’s match against Oklahoma at the NCAA Women’s Tennis Regional at Mitchell Tennis Center on Sunday, May 5, 2024. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
No. 13 A&M upsets No. 5 Virginia in dominant fashion, 4-1
Roman Arteaga, Sports Writer • May 17, 2024

No. 13 Texas A&M women’s tennis met Virginia in the quarterfinal of the NCAA Tournament on Friday, May 17 at the Greenwood Tennis Center...

Advertisement
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

Letter from the opinion editor: Adding to the conversation

The+Texas+A%26amp%3BM+Academic+Building+on+Friday%2C+Sep.+2%2C+2022.
Photo by Cameron Johnson

The Texas A&M Academic Building on Friday, Sep. 2, 2022.

Whether it’s a love for learning, the captivating sight of a touchdown on Kyle Field or the frustration of sitting in traffic behind a seemingly endless train, there’s a myriad of shared academic and social experiences that bind Aggies together.
Talking about these experiences, sharing advice and even voicing disagreement is invaluable to any community — and sometimes the ideal place for this discourse isn’t a TexAgs message board. Which is why, for decades, The Battalion has published letters and guest commentary from members of the Aggie family.
This publication is ultimately for your benefit. That’s right, you! Who I presume to be at least incidentally affiliated with Texas A&M. Our staff is considerably large, and we strive to encapsulate our university and surrounding community, its members and their opinions. Despite our best efforts, it turns out that A&M and Bryan-College Station are inevitably much larger and multifaceted than our roster of writers and reporters could ever be.
That’s where you come in.
Writing for the community is a chance to explore the issues that affect us all and participate in one of A&M’s longest running traditions. Have any particular academic insights you would like to share? Perhaps an interest in the often overlooked arena of local politics? Interesting research being done at A&M you would like to address? Or maybe you just disagree with something my opinion writers penned and want to offer an alternative viewpoint? If it’s a topic on Aggies’ minds or something that should be, it’s fair game.
Currently, our university and community are undergoing a period of unprecedented change, which brings with it an increased responsibility to not only document these developments, but to foster an environment conducive to healthy civic debate and participation. Students, faculty and residents should feel enabled to engage with local and academic issues. At the opinion desk we hope to be a catalyst for this activity.
So, you got something to say?
Guest work can be submitted via email to [email protected], and while you’re at it be sure to cc [email protected]. We’re looking forward to reviewing your submissions! While we typically avoid frequently featuring the same guest author, if you find yourself especially passionate you can always apply to become a staff writer at tx.ag/applybatt.
When evaluating guest columns, I often look for the piece’s relevance to our audience, timeliness and ability to engage the local community in a constructive manner. If you want a better shot of getting published, be sure to review some of our previous guest contributions before sending your work.
Thanks and gig’em!
Caleb Elizondo is a computer science sophomore and opinion editor for The Battalion.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *