The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Texas A&M fans react after The Aggies win the NCAA Bryan-College Station Super Regional at Olsen Field on Sunday, June 9, 2024. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
The mad dash to Omaha
June 21, 2024
Some international students at Texas A&M have been struggling to pick up groceries because of limited transportation options from campus to H-E-B and Walmart on Texas Avenue.
Former A&M employee sentenced to 5 years for hiding restroom camera
The employee, who worked for Transportation Services, was sentenced Friday
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • June 24, 2024
Texas A&M Head Coach Jim Schlossnagle stands in a huddle during Texas A&M’s game against Tennessee at the NCAA Men’s College World Series finals at Charles Schwab Field in Omaha, Nebraska on Saturday, June 22, 2024. (Hannah Harrison/The Battalion)
Schlossnagle reportedly taking head coaching job at Texas
Ian Curtis, Sports Reporter • June 25, 2024

Just one day after leading Texas A&M baseball to a runner-up appearance at the Men’s College World Series, coach Jim Schlossnagle is leaving...

Texas A&M outfielder Jace Laviolette (17) reacts in the dugout after Texas A&M’s game against Tennessee at the NCAA Men’s College World Series finals at Charles Schwab Field in Omaha, Nebraska on Monday, June 24, 2024. (Hannah Harrison/The Battalion)
United they fall
June 24, 2024
Eats & Beats at Lake Walk features live music and food trucks for the perfect outdoor concert.
Enjoying the Destination
Cara Hudson, Maroon Life Writer • June 17, 2024

For the history buffs, there’s a story to why Bryan and College Station are so closely intertwined. In 1871 when the Texas Legislature approved...

Chris Hemsworth as Dementus in Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga.
Review: ‘Furiosa’ is a must-see
Justin ChenJune 4, 2024

My jaw dropped open in 2016. Rarely in life does that happen, but the viewing experience of “Mad Max: Fury Road" was something to behold....

Mourning the end of my time at A&M

Opinion+writer+Lilia+Elizondo+will+graduate+from+Texas+A%26amp%3BM+with+a+Bachelor%26%238217%3Bs+in+English+on+Thursday%2C+May+11+at+7+p.m.
Photo by Photo courtesy of Lilia Elizondo

Opinion writer Lilia Elizondo will graduate from Texas A&M with a Bachelor’s in English on Thursday, May 11 at 7 p.m.

I can’t say I’m seething with excitement to jump into adulthood. I am in pain, and I am happy. 

My college experience hasn’t been a traditional one. Because of AP tests and dual enrollment, I came with credit hours for a junior, and I knew exactly what I wanted to do after I graduate. I was gung-ho and ready to conserve money, study 25 hours a day, transition to law school and become the adult that I always felt I was — except none of that happened.

While I still feel very sure about law school, college has made me realize that I don’t actually have everything figured out. Shocker, I know. 

My obsession with charging through life proved itself to be intensely goofy, and my concrete plans quickly fell in on themselves like a bad game of Jenga. At first I treated college like a gross frat guy treats a random girl at Northgate and cemented an important rule: no commitment. 

Because the only commitment I was ready for was my desire to get in and get out. 

However, unsurprisingly, I caught feelings. I felt a deep sense of appreciation for people that I had never understood before. The routine I fell in love with in high school quickly dissolved, and I realized that spontaneity is the source of life. How could I just fall in love and then leave? 

I realized it was fun to race on my Veo at 11 p.m. on a Tuesday, that being an English major involved writing short stories and acting them out with my friends at Barnes and Noble and that learning for the sake of learning is one of the most fulfilling experiences that we can ever partake in. 

I realized I had a love of life that only a state of limbo such as college could give you. I had the freedom to become what I wanted while at the same time savoring the delicacies of childhood.  

It was all just happening so fast. 

What I thought would just be getting a degree transformed into me finding the greatest of friends, publishing research and newspaper articles, joining as many organizations as possible, getting piercings, finding amazing internship opportunities, love and a new sense of independence. 

And it’s all over now. 

I know I’ll move on, and I know I will continue to be happier with each year of my life because I get to experience new aspects of it. However, I don’t want to make the mistakes I made before and jump so easily into the idea of forgetting to savor. 

I want to relish the time I had this year, and I want to mourn this loss. I love Texas A&M, and it’s OK to be sad that I am leaving. Because without this sadness, I won’t understand the joy that comes with the memories for later. 

Thanks and gig’em. 

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *