The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Texas A&M outfielder Jace Laviolette (17) robs a home run from Florida infielder Cade Kurland (4) in the top of the ninth inning during Texas A&M’s game against Florida at the NCAA Men’s College World Series at Charles Schwab Field in Omaha, Nebraska on Sunday, June 15, 2024. (Hannah Harrison/The Battalion)
Saves and a robbery
Ian Curtis, Sports Reporter • June 16, 2024

Texas A&M baseball sophomore RF Jace LaViolette is known for his bat — and for good reason. LaViolette ranks sixth in the country in home...

Advertisement
Enjoying the Destination
Enjoying the Destination
Cara Hudson, Maroon Life writer • June 17, 2024

Editor's note: This article is sponsored content. All photos were provided by Visit Bryan. For the history buffs, there’s a story to why...

Advertisement
Chris Hemsworth as Dementus in Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga.
Review: ‘Furiosa’ is a must-see
Justin ChenJune 4, 2024

My jaw dropped open in 2016. Rarely in life does that happen, but the viewing experience of “Mad Max: Fury Road" was something to behold....

Texas A&M outfielder Jace Laviolette (17) robs a home run from Florida infielder Cade Kurland (4) in the top of the ninth inning during Texas A&M’s game against Florida at the NCAA Men’s College World Series at Charles Schwab Field in Omaha, Nebraska on Sunday, June 15, 2024. (Hannah Harrison/The Battalion)
Saves and a robbery
June 16, 2024

Muster is two days away — plan to be there

Muster+is+a+call+to+action+%26%238212%3B+remember+those+no+longer+with+us+by+celebrating+their+lives.
Photo by File

Muster is a call to action — remember those no longer with us by celebrating their lives.

I do not remember what I did April 21, 2014, but I do know what I missed. I didn’t visit the Reflections Display to see how a single heartbeat can mean the world to family and to friends. I never whispered “here” for the students I stood for at Silver Taps and memorialized in writing for this newspaper. And I didn’t hear my own heart beat in the stillness of Reed Arena, or feel it jump when three rifle volleys cracked the silence.

I did not attend Muster my sophomore year, and it is the biggest regret of my college experience. I’m sure I was busy — late April is primetime for projects and exams — but two years later, the memory of that late night is blended with countless others exactly like it. 

The opportunity to create a college experience that remains sharp and clear throughout a lifetime passes quickly, and the best memory Texas A&M can give is just two days away — Aggie Muster. 

Muster stands apart from Texas A&M’s countless other traditions because of its purpose and its scope. Muster is a call to action — remember those no longer with us by celebrating their lives. Eat barbeque and “Good Bull” with the 50-year reunion class. Stand in Reed Arena. Whisper, “Here.” 

Muster gives a very real answer to the phrase every Aggie freshman brags about to their hometown friends during their first college visit home — “From the outside looking in you can’t understand it, and from the inside looking out you can’t explain it.” 

It is an easy response to friends and acquaintances who ask whether or not the Aggie family exists, but it is unnecessary. Simply invite them to Muster. And more importantly, attend Thursday’s campus ceremony yourself. 

If you are a student leader, invite your organization to visit the Reflections Display and to sit in Reed Arena together. If you have homework, put in an hour or two of extra work Tuesday and Wednesday to free up Thursday evening. And if you’re a faculty member, be considerate with any assignments due this week. 

Do not let the small pleasures and responsibilities of the everyday shadow the opportunity to make a lasting experience. Muster will not make you graduate on time, it will not complete your homework or get you a job. But in one, two or 20 years you will remember the darkness of Reed Arena and how a whispered ‘here’ echoes louder than death. 

John Rangel is an aerospace engineering senior and science and technology editor for The Battalion.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *