The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Texas A&M utility Gavin Grahovac (9) throws the ball during A&Ms game against Georgia on Friday, April 26, 2024, at Olsen Field. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Southern slugfest
May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
A fighter jet squadron flies over during the National Anthem before Texas A&M’s game against Arkansas at Olsen Field on Saturday, May 18, 2024. (Chris Swann/The Battalion)
Bryan-College Station Regional participants announced
Ian Curtis, Sports Writer • May 27, 2024

For the second time in three seasons, No. 3 national seed Texas A&M baseball will host the Bryan-College Station Regional, where it’ll...

Advertisement
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

Opinion: Enough football, it’s meat judging season

The+remainder+of+the+crowd+stand+with+ponchos+during+a+game+against+UMass+while+The+Aggies+hope+to+break+a+6-game+losing+streak+on+Saturday%2C+Nov.+19+at+Kyle+Field+%28Ishika+Samant%2FThe+Battalion%29
Photo by Photo by Ishika Samant

The remainder of the crowd stand with ponchos during a game against UMass while The Aggies hope to break a 6-game losing streak on Saturday, Nov. 19 at Kyle Field (Ishika Samant/The Battalion)

Look, I’ve had enough. Our football team is destroying my mental health, and I have it on the unimpeachable authority of the TexAgs message board that I’m not the only one. I know we’re supposed to be “good Ags,” but I’m not feeling so great this season. Luckily the solution is deceptively simple: Abolish the Texas A&M football program.
Before you look away, consider the reality — it’s difficult enough being an Aggie. My entire family thinks I’m in a cult. I can’t find clothes that aren’t maroon and the crime against American architecture, charitably called Heldenfels, continues to offend even the most tolerant observers.
Being the big brother to that other school in Austin is hard enough without suffering what some consider the tenth ring of Dante’s Inferno — an A&M football game in 2022.
Every home game, we students dutifully march to our designated slice of concrete within the dominating walls of Kyle Field. We brave the scorching heat of September and the frigid temperatures of late November only to endure the sensation of a stake being driven through our poor Aggie hearts. And for what? To be told by Jimbo Fisher that all we need to do is “execute better” for the hundredth time?
Our hope to be the next football powerhouse is clearly misplaced, and we should cut our losses while we can. The skeptical among you may be wondering where you’re going to redirect your school spirit, but fear not! There are numerous successful programs that can satisfy your desire to yell into oblivion at the direction of white overalled men.
In support of President M. Katherine Bank’s goal of improving campus efficiency, Kyle Field could be used for multiple sports, such as cornhole and equestrian.
The A&M cornhole team recently won the National College Cornhole team championship, but is there any reason we can’t host their competitions in Kyle Field? Imagine it, 100,000 fans packed into Kyle Field to watch our country’s greatest tailgaters and day party enthusiasts go head-to-head in fierce matches of bean bag tossing. Bonus points to whichever team finishes more beers before the game ends.
When cornhole is over, the field can be outfitted for a slew of equestrian events that will give justice to our nationally-ranked team. I don’t know about you, but I think it will be pretty refreshing to do the BTHO cheer and then, well, BTHO our opponent.
Critics of my plan may argue I’m being too harsh, but I’m merely voicing an opinion felt by much of the student body and alums. A recent unnamed master’s degree graduate explained how Aggie football negatively affected his time in school and continues to haunt him to this day.
“Nothing will ever beat the rage I felt when the Aggies blew a 34-point lead to UCLA in 2017, or at least that’s what I thought until this season,” he said. “I mean seriously, a 4-7 record … Appalachian State … is this team cursed?”
He quickly became too emotional to finish the interview.
“Before every season I tell myself, ‘this might be our year,’ and then the games start, and reality bludgeons me in the head. Sometimes I think it would be better not to have a football team. The pain is too great,” marketing senior Rick Astley said.
There is no pretty way to put this. The 12th Man has had enough. The status quo is unsustainable. We are not a football school, and we never will be. Deep down, we’re meant to be an everything else school: cornhole, equestrian, baseball, meat judging, etc.
There may be pushback to my proposal, particularly from untraumatized freshmen, but it’s essential to consider the long-term mental health of the students. Future generations of Aggies will thank us for taking the brave move of admitting this whole football thing just isn’t us.
Ryan Lindner is a political science major and opinion writer for The Battalion.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributor
Ryan Lindner
Ryan Lindner, Head Opinion Editor
Ryan Lindner is a political science senior from Hutto, Texas, minoring in history. Ryan joined The Battalion as an opinion columnist in June 2022  until he became the Assistant Opinion Editor for the Spring 2023 semester. Since July 2023, Ryan has been The Battalion's Head Opinion Editor. Ryan has covered a range of topics, from local politics and campus culture to national issues, such as school choice and drug policy. After graduation, Ryan hopes to pursue a master's degree in international affairs.
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *