The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Texas A&M utility Gavin Grahovac (9) throws the ball during A&Ms game against Georgia on Friday, April 26, 2024, at Olsen Field. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Southern slugfest
May 23, 2024
Texas A&M pitcher Evan Aschenbeck (53) reacts after throwing the final strike out during Texas A&M’s game against Mississippi State on Saturday, March 23, 2024, at Olsen Field. (Chris Swann/ The Battalion)
Down but not out
May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
A fighter jet squadron flies over during the National Anthem before Texas A&M’s game against Arkansas at Olsen Field on Saturday, May 18, 2024. (Chris Swann/The Battalion)
Bryan-College Station Regional participants announced
Ian Curtis, Sports Writer • May 27, 2024

For the second time in three seasons, No. 3 national seed Texas A&M baseball will host the Bryan-College Station Regional, where it’ll...

Advertisement
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

Opinion: Howdy, haters!

Howdy+haters%21+The+opinion+desk+has+read+your+comments%2C+and+we+would+like+to+share+some+thoughts.
Photo by Kyle Heise

Howdy haters! The opinion desk has read your comments, and we would like to share some thoughts.

At the opinion desk, we post our articles on both Twitter and Facebook to facilitate discourse and expose our writers to constructive criticism. Oftentimes, the comment section is full of thoughtful, wholesome and considerate insights. Other times, not so much.
So without further ado, the hate comments that managed to rise above the rest and command our attention:
Caleb Elizondo @CalebElizondo7, opinion editor —
Regarding “STEM education lacks humanity:” “It’s amazing how often hubris, ignorance, presumption, and naivete travel together, and this article exemplifies that. The presumptuousness of someone who hasn’t even finished his freshman year casting some sort of broad-stroke criticism across an entire college is laughable …”
In my better moments online, I pause to reflect; does anyone really care about what I have to say? Will anyone, or even myself, remember what I’m typing a week from now? I haven’t come to a sure conclusion, but in regards to this commenter the answer to both questions is clear. This comment has lived in my head rent free for roughly a year now and brings me an occasional burst of giggles at least once a week.
Charis Adkins @Charis_Batt, opinion columnist —
Regarding “Family Weekend should be rescheduled:” “Charis Adkins, I read most of these comments and essentially no one agreed with your opinion. Is EVERYone [sic] else wrong?”
Ma’am, I literally just work here. They tell me to write an opinion, I write an opinion. You’re a grown woman picking a fight with a 20-year-old who wrote this article in a Red Bull-fueled fever dream at 3 a.m. What do you want me to say?
Maddie McMurrough @MadsMcMurrough, opinion writer —
Regarding “Something smells Fishy, Camp:” “If [Fish Camp] would have been three days at a tropical resort with a personal servant she wouldn’t have enjoyed it. She held her breath and shut her eyes like a toddler being force fed her vegetables.”
It’s ironic that a full grown man is lecturing me on maturity, while he uses an ad hominem argument against someone that can display more respect for others at 20 than he can at his age. I think this commenter is just deflecting his own maturity issues onto me simply because we have opposing opinions.
Saanya Troutman @Saanyalache, opinion writer —
Regarding “What happened to syllabus week:” “I guess the next article will be ‘can you believe they gave us homework due during spring break’ or ‘Assignments due on Monday? Who does that’ … softies”
Oh my gosh. It’s almost as if a Texas A&M student opinion writer can’t write an opinion about how she likes her lucrative education to be served — at A&M. Though I appreciate the article suggestions, I think I’d rather write a piece on “How to use proper capitalization and punctuation as a full-grown working adult” because I think certain individuals who happily flex their Twitter fingers have forgotten what correct spelling and grammar is.
Lilia Elizondo @Lilia Elizondo, opinion writer —
Regarding “A&M is UT’s Crazy Ex-Girlfriend:” “I guess Ms. Elizondo was never assaulted by one of [UT’s] ‘students’ at Midnight Yell.”
What? Do I have to be assaulted to not like someone? Where is this aggression coming from? Is this a threat? Who has to assault me? Should I prepare for someone to assault me? Why is the word students in quotes? Why is this actually kind of funny to read and making me laugh out loud? Why am I still laughing as I type this?

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *