The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Senior INF Rylen Wiggins (2) high fives Senior INF Trinity Cannon (6) before Texas A&Ms game against UTSA on Feb. 25, 2024 at Davis Diamond. (Jaime Rowe/The Battalion)
Storm the Beach
February 29, 2024
Senior INF Rylen Wiggins (2) high fives Senior INF Trinity Cannon (6) before Texas A&Ms game against UTSA on Feb. 25, 2024 at Davis Diamond. (Jaime Rowe/The Battalion)
Storm the Beach
February 29, 2024

Opinion: Northgate should have a women’s only bar

Tired of being bothered at the bars?
Tired+of+being+harassed+by+drunk+dudes+at+Northgate%3F+Opinion+writer+Maddie+McMurrough+says+Northgate+should+open+a+bar+for+women.
Selena Cosino
Tired of being harassed by drunk dudes at Northgate? Opinion writer Maddie McMurrough says Northgate should open a bar for women.

Over Christmas break I went to Sin City. That’s right, Las Vegas! 

With this being my first trip to Vegas as a 21-year-old adult, I found myself at the slot machines and somehow an Ice Bar. But when I got tired of losing my hard-earned money and drinking in a subzero freezer, I retired to my hotel room and turned on my TV for some well-deserved relaxation. 

I ended up watching an episode of Undercover Boss about the restaurant TGI Fridays. I was enlightened. Back in TGI Fridays’ early days, the restaurant was dubbed a haven for women during the turmoil of the 1960s and 1970s. It was a place women could go and feel safe enough to enjoy themselves. 

That got me thinking. 

The last two times I graced a bar with my presence, a pushy guy bombarded me and my group and made us, well, want to run screaming for the bouncer. Now, I know a bunch of people are going to yell at me in the comments saying I should be flattered by the attention, but I want to note that I would be more flattered if the approach wasn’t aggressive and patronizing.  

This may come as a surprise to a lot of people but when most women go out, we’re not looking for someone to go home with. Gasp. What? I know it’s quite shocking. I, and I’m sure most girls, don’t want to deal with frail egos on a night out. God forbid we tell the aggressive guy that we’re not interested or already taken, a slew of expletives and insults fly out of their mouth — my favorite being, “I didn’t want you anyways, I just felt bad for you.” 

So, here’s my official proposal for a women-only bar on Northgate.

Boys, this article really isn’t a diss on you, so don’t clap back at me like you do when I object to getting Freaky Tiki with you on nights out. I am flattered when I get hit on, and many women do enjoy being approached, but please learn to read body language or how to take rejection gracefully. Otherwise, we’ll have to resort to O’Bannon-ing you from our bar. 

We respect that it takes guts to approach a girl — you’re no Dixie Chicken. But, here are some things to look out for: if you’re getting one-word answers, uncomfortable silence or details that don’t add up. For example, I once told a forceful suitor that 35-year-old Rickie Fowler was my dad and I was a Midwestern D1 basketball player. He proceeded to ask me for an autograph. That’s called lying out of necessity so this guy can’t find you later when the alcohol wears off. We don’t want to lie to you, but sometimes it’s the only passive escape. 

So, don’t take any of those signs as playing hard to get. It means she’s just not that into you. Take the loss and bow out like the champion we know you are instead of insulting us because you couldn’t catch the vibe. Just a tip. 

So, what would this bar look like? First, the music that plays would be the kind of music girls get ready to. For example: Sza, ABBA, Lana Del Rey and Taylor Swift. Tasteful karaoke is encouraged, and song requests are accepted. So feel free to sing at the top of your lungs. 

The bathrooms are top of the line, super clean, with full length mirrors perfect for fit pics and random girls complimenting your outfit. The dance floor would be open and have enough space for your entire group to dance without being grinded on by some random guy. 

Not only would we have good bathrooms and even better company, we’d have employees whose entire job is arranging safe travel home for the ladies who need an extra drink or two. One discussion with them and you’ll be in your Backyard in no time. No need to worry about roofies or fumbling with the Uber app at 2 a.m. 

This would be The Spot for single, faithfully taken, or “in a situationship” girlies to feel safe and still have fun at the bars. If we can’t get our very own TGI Fridays haven in College Station, we’ll have to make one ourselves. Investors, get out your checkbooks, because this is a Money bar

Maddie McMurrough is an agricultural communications and journalism junior and opinion writer for The Battalion. 

View Comments (4)
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributor
Maddie McMurrough, Opinion Writer
Maddie McMurrough is an agricultural communications and journalism major from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Maddie has been writing for the Battalion since March 2023.
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (4)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • P

    Patrick L JonesFeb 8, 2024 at 11:50 am

    I would not have a problem with that. How about a men’s only club to boot?

    Reply
    • S

      SnoopyFeb 12, 2024 at 8:01 am

      Why would a bunch of guys want to go to a club without chics? What would you be daring each other to do between drinks if not see if you can “get that girl?”

      Reply
  • K

    kylie HopeFeb 8, 2024 at 10:59 am

    Snaps to you… this was great. Sending this to northgate’s boss

    Reply
  • I

    Isabella GarciaFeb 8, 2024 at 8:07 am

    slay

    Reply