The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Texas A&M starting pitcher/relief pitcher Emiley Kennedy (11) hands the ball to starting pitcher/relief pitcher Brooke Vestal (19) during Texas A&M’s game against Texas at the Austin Super Regional at Red and Charline McCombs Field in Austin, Texas, on Saturday, May 25, 2024. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Aggies’ comeback falls short in 9-8 loss to Longhorns
Luke White, Sports Editor • May 25, 2024

As the fifth inning drew to a close in Texas A&M softball’s Super Regional matchup with No. 1 Texas on Saturday, the Aggies found themselves...

Texas A&M utility Gavin Grahovac (9) throws the ball during A&Ms game against Georgia on Friday, April 26, 2024, at Olsen Field. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Southern slugfest
May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The Battalion May 4, 2024

Opinion: Our deepest apologies

Battalion vows only to print good opinions
Opinion+columnists+Charis+Adkins+and+Bj+Barnes+offer+a+humble+apology+to+readers.+Too+long+have+we+been+publishing+anti-A%26M+propaganda%2C+but+never+again.+%28Graphic+by+Caroline+Dollar%2FThe+Battalion%29
Graphic by Caroline Dollar
Opinion columnists Charis Adkins and Bj Barnes offer a humble apology to readers. Too long have we been publishing anti-A&M propaganda, but never again. (Graphic by Caroline Dollar/The Battalion)

We come to you this week with our tails between our legs and our heads hung low. 

We’ve seen your comments, taken them into serious consideration and are ready to address the longhorn in the room. 

While we try our best to gauge the most socially relevant topics surrounding our beloved school and student body, sometimes — perhaps even more than we’d like to admit — we don’t always get it right. 

At first, the backlash was tame. Nothing more than a few Ol’ redass Ags blowing off some steam in the comments section. However, as more and more opinion pieces that were somewhat critical of Texas A&M started to be published, we noticed that a large portion of our readers were not interested in this content. 

I mean really not into this content. 

“why can’t the Bat focus on positive things like how lucy [lucky] they are to be at such as an astounding University or the delicious food available in College Station or what a privilege it is to be an American instead of patent [parent] weekend messed up my study session or A&M football sucks,” one commenter wrote in regards to an article criticizing Parent Weekend and another tackling the current state of Aggie football. “The editor allowed these articles,” they continued. Yes, you read that right — the commenter laser-focused on patriotism and Aggie Spirit is also in favor of censorship in our student papers.

Another commenter addled by the same football article stooped even lower than calling for censorship: “I’ll send a box of Kotex, stat…”

Yet another Facebook commenter went as far as calling out yours truly — about, mind you, an opinion article — saying, “Charis Adkins, I read most of these comments and essentially no one agreed with your opinion. Is EVERYone else wrong?”

As opinion writers, we admit that it is our wont to include opinions in our articles. However, we have been woefully negligent in ensuring that every single one of our lovely readers and commenters agrees with the opinions we write. What on God’s green Earth would be the point of writing about opinions that some people don’t agree with?

So, before publishing any additional pieces that may not be received particularly well, we wanted to take a step back and address these concerns. 

We’d first like to acknowledge that, as of late, our content has been rather harsh on a school that is, for the most part, clean of any dirt. In reality, we have nothing to be concerned about here at A&M. 

Our leaders have consistently shown us their morally superior decision-making process. The Corps is leading the charge against any claims of misogyny still present on campus, and our student workers are being paid fairly for the hours they regularly put in that allow campus to properly function. 

Yep, everything here is completely based, or as people over the age of 50 might say, “hunky-dory.” As Aggies, we are actually incapable of any wrongdoing, and anyone who may try to tell you otherwise is most likely sporting burnt orange. 

As university leadership and campus facilities have proven time and again, A&M is without flaw. Far be it from The Battalion, acting as a source of news and a forum for student expression, to make any unjust claims to the contrary. For this, we apologize.

We understand that Old Ags are reading The Battalion to stay in touch with the school they love so dearly. We also acknowledge it can be difficult to hear hard truths about something you love. We further recognize that plaintive complaints in the Facebook comments section of our articles — “yapping,” as the kids say — is their right as American citizens, just as it is ours to write articles.

From now on, The Battalion promises to lessen the amount of published hard truths. Out of sight, out of mind, right? 

As a testament to our commitment to do better, The Battalion will be removing all anti-A&M propaganda from both print and digital archives. This includes any and all coverage on both recently removed university or student body presidents, articles on football games in which the Aggies lost and the entire opinion section.

On an unrelated note, we’d also like to inform you that The Battalion is no longer independent, having recently been absorbed into A&M’s digitally-focused journalism department. From now on, we vow to only publish content that further amplifies the administration’s voice. While our former president may have departed, we will see that her profound strides towards free speech and democracy are upheld.  

We regrettably believed our duty as student journalists was to inform the student body of anything that could both negatively and positively affect them. We will not make this mistake again.

Charis Adkins is an English junior and opinion columnist for The Battalion.

 

Benjamin Barnes is a telecommunication media studies senior and opinion columnist for The Battalion.

 

View Comments (10)
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributors
Charis Adkins, Opinion Columnist
Bj Barnes
Bj Barnes, Opinion Columnist
Benjamin Barnes is a Telecommunication Media Studies senior from Rochester, Indiana. Barnes' has been involved with The Battalion since his junior year and plans to start his own media group following graduation. If he's not writing, he's most likely watching a Texans game or at the gym.
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (10)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • D

    DebApr 19, 2024 at 9:19 am

    Sarcasm in an opinion piece doesn’t work for me.

    Reply
    • N

      NelsonApr 19, 2024 at 5:52 pm

      Your attitude doesn’t work for me

      Reply
    • N

      NelsonApr 19, 2024 at 6:01 pm

      I’d offer you some salt with that but you appear to have more than enough…

      Reply
  • R

    Richa ShahApr 11, 2024 at 12:14 pm

    Y’all✍️ATE✍️‘EM✍️UP✍️
    Gig ‘em

    Reply
  • L

    Lilia ElizondoApr 11, 2024 at 8:38 am

    BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING.

    Reply
  • T

    TamiApr 10, 2024 at 6:02 pm

    First, let me say great job Charis and BJ! You know you are doing a great job when you strike a cord with people. Small minded people don’t like to think and when you challenge their world; they can’t handle it. So they resort to bullying. Really? Kotex? Shame on that person degrading women for an opinion. That is creepy. Censorship is a problem in our country right now. Sadly we are in a place where people can have free speech as long the opinion “agrees with mine”. Take away introspection and free speech and where are we? Oh yeah China, Russia, or North Korea getting killed for an opinion. Have we learned nothing from the COVID censorship? You are great budding journalists to not fear going against the grain. Furthermore, even when you write opinion, you have backed it up with research. It is not ranting. The purpose has been to challenge the norm, provide insight and a different perspective on your subject while making it interesting. A school, business, student body or government is doomed to fail if they cannot look inward. In a world where people turn to tik tok for “news and information”you two are the hope for your generation. Keep up the good work and GIG ‘EM opinion writers!

    Reply
  • B

    BrandonApr 10, 2024 at 12:26 pm

    This is awesome

    Reply
  • B

    Barb WhiteApr 10, 2024 at 11:40 am

    Love this!

    Reply
  • C

    Chris ArrowsmithApr 9, 2024 at 10:57 pm

    Look the corps is not misogynistic….. but come on…. Women.

    Reply
  • R

    Rylee HApr 9, 2024 at 10:53 pm

    crying as I read this article.. #revivetheopinionsection

    Reply