The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Advertisement
The Northgate district right adjacent to the Texas A&M campus houses a street of bars and other restaurants.  
Programs look to combat drunk driving
Alexia Serrata, JOUR 203 contributor • May 10, 2024
Advertisement
Sophomore Nicole Khirin swings on Friday, April 12, 2024, at Mitchell Tennis Center. (Adriano Espinosa/The Battalion)
Aggies ace Volunteers to advance to final
Mathias Cubillan, Sports Writer • May 19, 2024

The No. 13 Texas A&M women’s tennis team took on No. 16 Tennessee in the semifinal of the NCAA Tournament on Saturday, May 18 at the Greenwood...

Advertisement
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

Opinion: Where to study?

Studying
Photo by Kaili Gaston
Studying

Finals have arrived.

Tis’ the season in which students begin to regret skipping all those easy assignments and playing hooky since the second week of class. Listen up, Ags. It’s time to stop procrastinating and start cramming as much information as your over-caffeinated, under-rested brain can handle.

In the spirit of the season, we here at The Battalion’s opinion section have compiled a list of the best study spots on campus. Happy memorizing!

Opinion Editor Ryan Lindner @RyanLindner12  

This one is for all my fellow political science majors — the Bush School. More specifically though, the outside patio area that overlooks the Barbara Bush Rose Garden and Presidential Pond. This little-known spot is rarely busy and is a great place to study if you’re looking for a good view, fresh air and an aesthetic that’s not as depressing as hiding out in Evans Library all day. Park in the Fan Field lot or take bus 5 to the Allen building. You won’t regret it.

Assistant Opinion Editor Ana Sofia Sloane @anasofiasloane  

Ever tried studying in a grocery store? No? You should. Unbeknownst to some, Brookshire Brothers boasts a spacious upstairs area packed with tables of all sizes, plentiful charging outlets and comfy couches. Mere feet below these amenities, an in-house cafe and deli provide any sustenance a hungry college student could possibly desire while writing papers and memorizing equations. Though unconventional, it’s all perfectly convenient: buy a snack, head upstairs and get to work. Who needs the dark-academia aesthetics of libraries and cafes when you can enjoy grocery-store core? Brookie Bros awaits.

Opinion Columnist Charis Adkins @Charis_Batt 

I’ve got three words for you: the Interrogation Chamber. With the soundproof walls and triple-bolted door it’s the perfect study spot. Plus it’s pretty secluded, hidden as it is deep in the underbelly of Schuhmacher Residence Hall behind that fake wall panel. I go there all the time, especially around finals. I would go more often but someone mysteriously called ‘University Official’ always has the room reserved for their various “appointments.”  If you can get a reservation, I’d highly recommend it — I’ve written some of my best papers between those padded walls.

Opinion Columnist Ben Barnes @Ben_Batt24 

Look, there are many unadvertised spots that are not conventionally used for studying around campus such as the third floor of the main rec center by the squash courts or that horticulture skyrise room that is supposedly off-limits to students by Heldenfelds. However, if you really want to know where you can ‘legally’ have a productive study-sesh, try the first floor of the Annex. Everyone is so quick to run to the elevators when they first walk in, but if you march straight to where the desktop computers are that nobody uses, you’ll thank me later.
Opinion Writer Maddie McMurrough @MadsMcmurrough 

Unlike my fellow opinion writers, I don’t like studying on campus. I don’t like studying. Period. But when I do, I study in the comforts of my own home. Most people say, “I can’t focus at home.” Yeah, it’s definitely a personal choice, however as the chatty girl I am, if I see anyone I know, my book will close, and my mouth will open. The best gossip is spilled in Evans Library, I can’t resist. So, studying in public is completely out for me. Plus, my cat, Sookie, is the only study partner I need.

Opinion Writer Isa Garcia @Isa_TheBatt 
Ah, to study alone or not to study alone. Seeing as I am an absolute academic weapon, nobody is more competent than myself when it comes to learning the required content, and as such, group studying is a no-go. Instead, I frequent the cozy-with-a-touch-of-funk Sweet Eugene’s coffee shop on George Bush Dr. and never fail to channel my inner Dostoevsky. However, the best way to truly learn a concept is to teach it to someone else, and nowhere provides more hopelessly confused students than Evans. It usually takes less than five minutes before someone sees my whiteboard and asks me to explain my genius.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributors
Ryan Lindner
Ryan Lindner, Head Opinion Editor
Ryan Lindner is a political science senior from Hutto, Texas, minoring in history. Ryan joined The Battalion as an opinion columnist in June 2022  until he became the Assistant Opinion Editor for the Spring 2023 semester. Since July 2023, Ryan has been The Battalion's Head Opinion Editor. Ryan has covered a range of topics, from local politics and campus culture to national issues, such as school choice and drug policy. After graduation, Ryan hopes to pursue a master's degree in international affairs.
Ana Sofia Sloane
Ana Sofia Sloane, Associate Opinion Editor
Charis Adkins, Opinion Columnist
Bj Barnes
Bj Barnes, Opinion Columnist
Benjamin Barnes is a Telecommunication Media Studies senior from Rochester, Indiana. Barnes' has been involved with The Battalion since his junior year and plans to start his own media group following graduation. If he's not writing, he's most likely watching a Texans game or at the gym.
Maddie McMurrough, Opinion Writer
Maddie McMurrough is an agricultural communications and journalism major from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Maddie has been writing for the Battalion since March 2023.
Isabella Garcia
Isabella Garcia, Opinion Writer
Isabella Garcia is an Economics sophomore from San Antonio, Texas and has been an opinion writer for The Battalion since June 2023. After graduation, Isabella intends to earn a J.D. and pursue a career in corporate law.
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *