The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Texas A&M utility Gavin Grahovac (9) throws the ball during A&Ms game against Georgia on Friday, April 26, 2024, at Olsen Field. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Southern slugfest
May 23, 2024
Texas A&M pitcher Evan Aschenbeck (53) reacts after throwing the final strike out during Texas A&M’s game against Mississippi State on Saturday, March 23, 2024, at Olsen Field. (Chris Swann/ The Battalion)
Down but not out
May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
A fighter jet squadron flies over during the National Anthem before Texas A&M’s game against Arkansas at Olsen Field on Saturday, May 18, 2024. (Chris Swann/The Battalion)
Bryan-College Station Regional participants announced
Ian Curtis, Sports Writer • May 27, 2024

For the second time in three seasons, No. 3 national seed Texas A&M baseball will host the Bryan-College Station Regional, where it’ll...

Advertisement
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

It’s time to rethink our resolutions

Or don’t, there’s always next year.
January+comes+with+its+share+of+unattainable+New+Year%E2%80%99s+resolutions+you%E2%80%99ll+forget+about+by+mid-February.+Join+opinion+columnist+Charis+Adkins+in+exploring+how+to+set+fun+and+realistic+resolutions.+Or+don%E2%80%99t.+There%E2%80%99s+always+2025.+%28Photo+by+Chris+Swann%2FThe+Battalion%29
Chris Swann
January comes with its share of unattainable New Year’s resolutions you’ll forget about by mid-February. Join opinion columnist Charis Adkins in exploring how to set fun and realistic resolutions. Or don’t. There’s always 2025. (Photo by Chris Swann/The Battalion)

Welcome to 2024, Ags! Clinging to the coattails of the new year are all those pesky resolutions. If you ask me, the whole idea is a load of hogwash.

I bet you have some resolutions, don’t you? Some cliche pledges that you’ve already forgotten about?

Let’s see … Did you vow to exercise? Eat out less? Study more? Maybe you promised to get through that ever-growing stack of unread books, or cut back on sweets?

Well. How’s that working out for you so far?

If you’ve made it all the way to this, the fourth week of January, I commend you. I’m also pretty confident that by the time school really kicks up in February any motivation to keep cooking your own meals or hitting the Rec every morning will have drained completely out.

And you know what? That’s OK. In my humble opinion, New Year’s resolutions are entirely overrated.

For that reason, I’ve curated a selection of my own New Year’s resolutions to share with the class. I know, I know. I just said they were overrated, and I stand by that. But I fully support composing absolutely goofy resolutions to get you through the coming year.

So, for example, you could say that you vow to love yourself as much as Lizzo loves herself — minus the whole indulging guilty pleasures by eating backup dancers part.

I also vow to stop procrastinating so mu- [note to self: finish that sentence later]. Also, improove my speling. Or maybe just make my grammar betterer.

Anyway. Overall, “new year, new me” is a damaging mindset. The only thing that’s changed is the calendar year, and it’s silly to expect that with the same responsibilities, time constraints and stressors as last year you can turn your life around by suddenly adding one more obligation to your schedule.

They have their place, of course; sometimes, all you need is a Gregorian kick in the rear to find that motivation.  The problem comes in later — when life gets busy and you inevitably miss a day or two of whatever it is you’re supposed to be improving.

Then, akin to losing a Duolingo streak, all your motivation dries up.

Generally speaking, New Year’s resolutions are good for one thing: pinpointing what you want to improve in your life. Once you have those, you can figure out how to take steps in the right direction.

Be realistic. Instead of just saying “exercise,” write out how much time exactly you want to spend at the gym. And, by the way, lowball it. You’ll thank me later.

For example, I pledge to make my bed at least once a week (and not only when I have people coming over).

Or, drink water instead of soda once a week. Cut out one energy drink per week unless you feel like you’re going to die otherwise. Call your folks every Sunday. Make an effort for your phone not to be the first thing you see when you wake up in the morning.

The key to actually keeping to these resolutions is making them attainable. And, by starting small, you can build them into real habits.

Or, if even that seems like too much, just keep on truckin’. You’re still alive; that’s an accomplishment in and of itself. After all, I don’t see why we always have to make the resolutions. Maybe it’s the year’s turn to be better.

Yeah, you know what? I’ve got some suggested resolutions for 2024 to take into consideration.

Once you’ve started one major political or religious war, finish it before starting another.

100% fewer Chinese spy balloons would be nice.

Less headlines that start with “Elon Musk.”

While we’re at it, I don’t want to hear about Taylor Swift anymore, either.

Fewer major Ohioan chemical spills.

COVID-19 is still happening? Why? Pick up a new hobby, preferably a less contagious one.

In short, make your resolutions work for you. If they’re not attainable or easy enough to do during midterms, odds are you won’t make it through July, let alone the whole year.

And if you do forget about them anyway, don’t sweat it. There’s always 2025. (Whoop).

Charis Adkins is an English junior and opinion columnist for The Battalion.

View Comments (1)
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributors
Charis Adkins, Opinion Columnist
Chris Swann
Chris Swann, Assistant Photo Editor
Chris is a Journalism junior from Winnsboro, TX. Chris served as the Social Media Manager prior to becoming the Assistant Photo Editor for The Battalion’s photo desk. Before transferring to A&M in the Fall of 2023, Chris spent two years at Tyler Junior College, where he was Photo and Design editor for their student media, The DrumBeat. He is expected to graduate in May of 2026.
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (1)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • H

    HayleyApr 4, 2024 at 1:25 pm

    Hilariously well-written! I’m so late to this article but I completely agree!!

    Reply