The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Advertisement
The Northgate district right adjacent to the Texas A&M campus houses a street of bars and other restaurants.  
Programs look to combat drunk driving
Alexia Serrata, JOUR 203 contributor • May 10, 2024
Advertisement
Freshman Cayetana Fernández García-Poggio appears to put in the rain during the Bryan Regional of the NCAA Women’s Golf Championship at Traditions Golf Club on Monday, May 6, 2024. (Hannah Harrison/The Battalion)
A&M’s season wraps up with 3-0 loss to UCLA in NCAA quarterfinals
Luke White, Sports Editor • May 21, 2024

The Texas A&M women’s golf team’s habit of struggling to close out matches led to the closing of its season on Tuesday, May 21, with...

Advertisement
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

Opinion: The worst tweets of 2022

The+Battalion+opinion+desk+reflects+upon+the+very+worst+that+society+has+to+offer.
Photo courtesy of Yuri Samoilov

The Battalion opinion desk reflects upon the very worst that society has to offer.

At The Battalion, our writers and columnists are required to maintain a Twitter account to hold them accountable to the public and encourage interaction with the community. Thanks to this policy, our desk members received an abundance of encouraging comments and constructive criticism last year. Unfortunately, all of these positive results have come at a high cost: browsing Twitter.

So without further ado: the opinion staff’s picks for the worst tweets of 2022:

Opinion Editor Caleb Elizondo, @CalebElizondo7 — 

Have you ever wondered what would happen if you fed an AI chatbot a nonstop stream of Fox News content and then gave it a Twitter account? Or perhaps forced a Tucker Carlson monologue through a game of telephone and several rounds of Google Translate? To the curious reader, I humbly present Representative Clay Higgins.

While most of Higgins’ feed is fairly predictable, a long scroll will inevitably yield a nugget of comedy gold. Woke sky? Non-binary fuss? Intercontinental ballistic tweets? How could I not select this as the worst tweet of 2022?

Opinion Writer Charis Adkins, @Charis_Batt —

English is both my first language and my major, and I still have no idea what’s going on. It took a 15-minute foray into the vernacular wasteland that is Urban Dictionary for me to have a tentative grasp on the meaning of this tweet, and even then I’m not 100% confident.

The fact that we live in a world where over 10,000 people, not only understood, but physically liked whatever message this is trying to convey is an exhausting notion. Be careful out there, folks — and maybe it’s time to bookmark Urban Dictionary.

Opinion Writer Valerie Muñoz, @Val4Batt — 

This tweet comes from a very serious Harvard grad and political pundit. The question is, does he think that John Legend is as admirable as Volodymyr Zelensky because of his legendary last name or his charming emails?
Here’s my piece of advice: even though it may be flattering to get a “personal message” from a celebrity, it is perfectly acceptable to refrain from endorsing their non-existent bid for president. I’m not exactly sure Legend’s “All of Me” was supposed to be interpreted as political.

Opinion Writer Ana Sofia Sloane, @anasofiasloane —

There’s just so much to unpack here: The wild take that President Vladimir Putin’s decision to invade Ukraine stems from bad parenting, the painfully dramatic and poorly written poetry, the failure to read the room …

While AnnaLynne McCord wishes she could’ve shown Putin some motherly love to unlock his potential as a “powerful being of light,” I wish Twitter as a whole could’ve been deactivated as the devastating Russian-Ukraine conflict unfolded in the East last year.

Assistant Opinion Editor Ryan Lindner, @ryanlindner12 —

Rockets launched. Cities destroyed. The ever-looming possibility of World War III. But, hey, at least the “aesthetics” of it all look so very epic! Nuclear Armageddon? Who cares as long as the vibes are right?

Whether it’s the tone-deaf composition or the weird child-like ignorance of human suffering, this is one of those tweets that makes you yearn for the inevitable demise of this cursed app.

Opinion Writer Lilia Elizondo, @LiliaElizondo05 —

The reasoning for this is simple. No one wants a calendar. We want Mr. Martin to finally complete Winds of Winter. Why is he doing this to us?

Opinion Writer Benjamin Barnes, @Ben_Batt24 —

There have always been questions that piqued the interest of, and defined human curiosity. What is the meaning of life? Are we alone in this desolate universe? HA! Mere child’s play compared to the age-old question anyone sorry enough to call themselves an avid user Twitter wrestles with daily. Is Nick Adams just a pathetic moron who’s mad at the world, or is he the greatest troll our generation has ever seen?

Opinion Writer Saanya Troutman, @Saanyalache —

J.K. Rowling, known for her notorious anti-transgender takes, ended the year with a classic unprovoked jab using the term “TERF” as  “trans-exclusionary radical feminist.” What better way to enjoy the holidays than to attack an already marginalized group, some of which are the readers who grew up on your novels? Merry Christmas, I guess.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributors
Charis Adkins, Opinion Columnist
Ana Sofia Sloane
Ana Sofia Sloane, Associate Opinion Editor
Ryan Lindner
Ryan Lindner, Head Opinion Editor
Ryan Lindner is a political science senior from Hutto, Texas, minoring in history. Ryan joined The Battalion as an opinion columnist in June 2022  until he became the Assistant Opinion Editor for the Spring 2023 semester. Since July 2023, Ryan has been The Battalion's Head Opinion Editor. Ryan has covered a range of topics, from local politics and campus culture to national issues, such as school choice and drug policy. After graduation, Ryan hopes to pursue a master's degree in international affairs.
Bj Barnes
Bj Barnes, Opinion Columnist
Benjamin Barnes is a Telecommunication Media Studies senior from Rochester, Indiana. Barnes' has been involved with The Battalion since his junior year and plans to start his own media group following graduation. If he's not writing, he's most likely watching a Texans game or at the gym.
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *