The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Texas A&M utility Gavin Grahovac (9) throws the ball during A&Ms game against Georgia on Friday, April 26, 2024, at Olsen Field. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Southern slugfest
May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
A fighter jet squadron flies over during the National Anthem before Texas A&M’s game against Arkansas at Olsen Field on Saturday, May 18, 2024. (Chris Swann/The Battalion)
Bryan-College Station Regional participants announced
Ian Curtis, Sports Writer • May 27, 2024

For the second time in three seasons, No. 3 national seed Texas A&M baseball will host the Bryan-College Station Regional, where it’ll...

Advertisement
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

The road less traveled

Opinion+columnist+Kaelin+Connor+is+graduating+from+Texas+A%26amp%3BM+with+a+Bachelor%26%238217%3Bs+in+Psychology+on+Friday%2C+May+13+at+4+p.m.%26%23160%3B
Photo by Photo Courtesy of Kaelin Connor

Opinion columnist Kaelin Connor is graduating from Texas A&M with a Bachelor’s in Psychology on Friday, May 13 at 4 p.m. 

As a graduate, I can look back at my four years and see many missteps.
I can see insecurities and irresponsible behaviors that would’ve saved me a lot of trouble had I known what I now do. I can see a once bright, excited girl quickly evolve into the opposite. I can see a lot of things, to some, worth changing.
However, I wouldn’t go as far. Would I have preferred to have avoided debilitating depression? Sure. I’m positive that a certain specific incident would’ve avoided a lot of pain and grief. I could’ve forgone an eating disorder and chronic panic attacks. I’m sure a lot of these things not happening would’ve made college a bit more manageable, but honestly, I wouldn’t change it.
The woman I am now wouldn’t be without those experiences. They were painful experiences, ones I wouldn’t wish for anyone. They were experiences, however, that shaped and sculpted me into the person I am. Without those moments in time, I wouldn’t have had the perspective to write what I have written or be who I have been.
Pain is unavoidable, but our pain also has the ability to forge a stronger, more audacious individual. Pain has the potential to teach and with that, I hope that I was able to give perspective to someone, anyone through my writing.
College wasn’t all doom and gloom.
During my four years here at Texas A&M, I joined a sorority that led me to astonishing women who will stand at my altar and also pick me up when I fall. I joined Fish Camp where I met phenomenal people and transitioned A&M freshmen into the Aggie family.
Writing for The Battalion wasn’t on my radar, though. While I have always been far more successful in English and history than math and science, writing wasn’t something I did other than for school papers. It took a friendly boy who put the idea on my course by a simple suggestion. After many controversial opinion columns — here I am over a year later saying farewell.
Writing for this incredible newspaper gave me perspectives that I had never thought of before. It challenged me and made me think more critically about why I believe what I do. It gave me thick skin because despite any of my opinions’ justification, not everyone will agree with them.
Growing up, my parents refused to talk politics with me unless I had well researched the topic — funny how things come full circle. I’ve been able to write about topics I hadn’t realized I was so passionate about. I’ve been able to give people a voice, while finding my own. I’ve upset people, but I’ve also given them something to think about.
This university is a special place — it will lead you toward a road less traveled and one you’ll never expect. It’s hard, but it’s worth it. The road I traveled was a fierce ride, but one that has led me to the now, and I’m so grateful that it did.
For the final time, I will leave you with this: be kind to others, be willing to listen and Gig ’em Ags.
Kaelin Connor is a psychology senior and opinion columnist for The Battalion.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *