The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Texas A&M utility Gavin Grahovac (9) throws the ball during A&Ms game against Georgia on Friday, April 26, 2024, at Olsen Field. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Southern slugfest
May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
A fighter jet squadron flies over during the National Anthem before Texas A&M’s game against Arkansas at Olsen Field on Saturday, May 18, 2024. (Chris Swann/The Battalion)
Bryan-College Station Regional participants announced
Ian Curtis, Sports Writer • May 27, 2024

For the second time in three seasons, No. 3 national seed Texas A&M baseball will host the Bryan-College Station Regional, where it’ll...

Advertisement
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

Welcome to the Opinion Section

%26%23160%3BWondering+why+you+should+read+The+Battalion%26%238217%3Bs+opinion+page%3F+Columnist+Charis+Adkins+and+opinion+editor+Ryan+Lindner+give+you+a+tour+of+the+desk+and+why+you+should+stick+around.+You+never+know.+You+might+like+it+here.
Photo by Photo by Ishika Samant

 Wondering why you should read The Battalion’s opinion page? Columnist Charis Adkins and opinion editor Ryan Lindner give you a tour of the desk and why you should stick around. You never know. You might like it here.

Welcome to The Battalion’s opinion section! On behalf of all of us here on the opinion desk, we’re excited to have you.

If you’re familiar with the opinion sections of most other newspapers, student or otherwise, then let’s just say you probably wouldn’t be here reading this. Too often, their stories range from political to political-adjacent without a unique twist or voice. The titles are long, the subjects are overdone and a brief perusal of the text itself reveals articles about as engrossing as a Tolstoy novel (sorry Russian majors.)

We here at The Battalion don’t ascribe to the media’s cherished belief that opinion articles are supposed to be bland news with a bias. You could say we’re self-aware — we know that most people aren’t interested in reading a 20-year-old’s political opinions that are no different than a typical Washington Post op-ed. Unless you happen to be a poli-sci major, of course.

So, what do we do? Well, being the opinion desk, we’re in the business of writing opinions. Any and all opinions, as relevant or irrelevant as you can imagine. Sure, we have some articles featuring politics or national headlines, but they don’t read like a standard news article. And more importantly, we know how to have fun and write things you wouldn’t expect to see in a student paper.

If you’re new to us here at The Batt opinion section, how about trying some of these articles on for size?

We also do satire!

Now, that being said, we do write about critical campus politics and controversies. For example, the April 2022 kidnapping of the Texas-shaped waffle irons from Sbisa Dining Hall.

Jokes aside, we also cover serious topics. Amidst the drama of the previous Texas legislative session, we published two pieces going head-to-head on the topic of public education and school choice. Columnist Ana Sofia Sloane dove into the issue of free speech on campus, and opinion writer Benjamin Barnes uncovered Chartwell’s monopolistic power on campus in his piece “A&M is pimping out students in plain sight.”

If you care about big national news, you could always read one of the mainstream publications with their facade of sophistication and ultra-seriousness. With us, you get something a little different — the musings of current students who drink unhealthy amounts of coffee and spend too much time in a dingy newsroom in the basement of the Memorial Student Center. But most importantly, students who love Aggieland enough to write about it every week — sometimes admittedly at the expense of our grade point average.

Basically, we concern ourselves with what concerns you, from campus squirrels to the Corps, which really aren’t that different if you stop to think about it. So, when you pick up a copy of The Batt — and you should, every Thursday — don’t flip past our opinion page. We write for you.

Charis Adkins is an English junior and opinion columnist for The Battalion.

Ryan Lindner is a political science senior and opinion editor for The Battalion.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributors
Charis Adkins
Charis Adkins, Opinion Columnist
Ryan Lindner
Ryan Lindner, Head Opinion Editor
Ryan Lindner is a political science senior from Hutto, Texas, minoring in history. Ryan joined The Battalion as an opinion columnist in June 2022  until he became the Assistant Opinion Editor for the Spring 2023 semester. Since July 2023, Ryan has been The Battalion's Head Opinion Editor. Ryan has covered a range of topics, from local politics and campus culture to national issues, such as school choice and drug policy. After graduation, Ryan hopes to pursue a master's degree in international affairs.
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *