The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Texas A&M infielder Rylen Wiggins (2) reacts during Texas A&M’s game against Texas at the Austin Super Regional at Red and Charline McCombs Field in Austin, Texas, on Sunday, May 26, 2024. (CJ Smith/The Battalion)
Aggies’ season ends with heartbreaking loss to Longhorns
Luke White, Sports Editor • May 27, 2024

Sharper play in the sixth innings of Texas A&M softball’s NCAA Super Regional series with No. 1 Texas may have been the difference between...

Advertisement
Beekeeper Shelby Dittman scoops bees back into their hive during a visit on Friday, April 5, 2024. (Kyle Heise/The Battalion)
Bee-hind the scenes
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • May 1, 2024

The speakers turn on. Static clicks. And a voice reads “Your starting lineup for the Texas A&M Aggies is …” Spectators hear that...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Scenes from 74
Scenes from '74
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
Farewell from the graduating Battalion staff of 2024
The BattalionMay 4, 2024

Satire: Nothing But Engineering Bill passes senate

The+John+J.+Koldus+Building+on+Tuesday%2C+Sept.+13%2C+2022.
Photo by Abbey Santoro

The John J. Koldus Building on Tuesday, Sept. 13, 2022.

“Honestly, I don’t understand why we have all these other colleges when we can focus all of our attention on the majors that matter the most,” College of Engineering Senator Clancy Iguodala said during the March 8 student senate meeting, arguing in favor of passing the Nothing But Engineering Bill.
The bill was sponsored by the entirety of the engineering caucus and urges the university to embrace its mechanical roots by discontinuing the instruction of any major vaguely resembling liberal arts.
“The 75th Session of the Texas A&M Student Senate demands the university to immediately instate the College of Engineering as the only college deserving of university funds,” the bill reads. “All other majors shall be ended and students transferred to t.u.”
The piece was inspired by multiple factors, such as President M. Katherine Banks’ desire to make the university more efficient and the implicit feeling of superiority radiating from every engineering student on campus. The Nothing But Engineering Bill voices what every frequent visitor to the Zachry Engineering Education Complex is already thinking:
“Why do we waste money on providing useless classes such as classical literature, constitutional studies and child development when we can code and make robots all day?”
Needing a simple majority of votes to pass, the bill was originally considered a long shot. However, supporters were surprised after non-engineering senators, such as political science sophomore senator Bryan Lindell, voiced their support for the bill.
“Every day I drive by Zachry and think, ‘Man, I would love to have some classes there,’” Lindell said. “If transferring to engineering means I won’t have to spend all my time in Blocker and Herrington, then that’s what I’ll do.”
College of Liberal Arts Senator Jane Lausten says the writing is on the wall.
“After the 25 by 25 initiative and the hodge-podge of majors thrown together into the Frankenstein experiment otherwise known as the College of Arts and Sciences, I am certain that the unforgiving march of engineering will continue,” Lausten said. “I might as well transfer now instead of waiting for the inevitable.”
According to the bill, non-engineering students will be relegated to that “other school in Austin,” which the bill describes as “a university uniquely capable of accepting so many liberal snowflakes who read obscure leftist marijuana-fueled literature such as Shakespeare.”
The bill passed two weeks ago, but nothing has happened because of the senate’s limited authority, and no one from the administration read the resolution until March 26, when a secretary accidentally noticed it on their website.
Ryan Lindner is a sophomore political science major and assistant opinion editor for The Battalion.
Editor’s note: This article is satire and therefore the attributed quotes and facts within it are fictitious.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributor
Ryan Lindner
Ryan Lindner, Head Opinion Editor
Ryan Lindner is a political science senior from Hutto, Texas, minoring in history. Ryan joined The Battalion as an opinion columnist in June 2022  until he became the Assistant Opinion Editor for the Spring 2023 semester. Since July 2023, Ryan has been The Battalion's Head Opinion Editor. Ryan has covered a range of topics, from local politics and campus culture to national issues, such as school choice and drug policy. After graduation, Ryan hopes to pursue a master's degree in international affairs.
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *