The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

The Student News Site of Texas A&M University - College Station

The Battalion

Advertisement
Texas A&M University System Chancellor John Sharp attends the Class of 1972 50-year reunion in Kyle Field on April 20, 2022.
A&M System’s Title IX director suspended after supporting Biden's Title IX changes
Nicholas Gutteridge, Managing Editor • May 23, 2024
Advertisement
Texas A&M outfielder Jace Laviolette (17) robs a home run from Florida infielder Cade Kurland (4) in the top of the ninth inning during Texas A&M’s game against Florida at the NCAA Men’s College World Series at Charles Schwab Field in Omaha, Nebraska on Sunday, June 15, 2024. (Hannah Harrison/The Battalion)
Saves and a robbery
Ian Curtis, Sports Reporter • June 16, 2024

Texas A&M baseball sophomore RF Jace LaViolette is known for his bat — and for good reason. LaViolette ranks sixth in the country in home...

Advertisement
The Fighting Texas Aggie Band performs at halftime during Texas A&Ms football game against ULM at Kyle Field on Saturday, Sept. 16, 2023.
Gridiron glory to multi-event marvel
Shalina Sabih, Sports Writer • June 7, 2024

Special teams: Special events  “My favorite thing about an event is seeing the people come into the stadium and seeing their excitement...

Kennedy White, 19, sits for a portrait in the sweats she wore the night of her alleged assault inside the Y.M.C.A building that holds Texas A&M’s Title IX offices in College Station, Texas on Feb. 16, 2024 (Ishika Samant/The Battalion).
'I was terrified'
April 25, 2024
Advertisement
Chris Hemsworth as Dementus in Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga.
Review: ‘Furiosa’ is a must-see
Justin ChenJune 4, 2024

My jaw dropped open in 2016. Rarely in life does that happen, but the viewing experience of “Mad Max: Fury Road" was something to behold....

Texas A&M outfielder Jace Laviolette (17) robs a home run from Florida infielder Cade Kurland (4) in the top of the ninth inning during Texas A&M’s game against Florida at the NCAA Men’s College World Series at Charles Schwab Field in Omaha, Nebraska on Sunday, June 15, 2024. (Hannah Harrison/The Battalion)
Saves and a robbery
June 16, 2024

Why can’t people just stay home?

Why+some+people+are+choosing+not+to+follow+social+distancing+guidelines+is+questioned+by+opinion+writer+Allison+Dennis.
Photo by Creative Commons

Why some people are choosing not to follow social distancing guidelines is questioned by opinion writer Allison Dennis.

This past week, as I flipped through Instagram posts that exhibited evident neglect for social distancing, a frustrating question flooded my thoughts: Why can’t people stay at home? It occurred to me that people have either misinterpreted or ignored the practice of “social distancing” altogether. For some, public officials present social distancing as a request to shift locations of social contact. For others, social distancing presents itself as either an overreaction or a self-excused practice. It’s encouraging that for many, social distancing equates to an urgent call to protect the health of one another. Unfortunately, some still have not fully grasped the cruciality and change that understanding and upholding the practice could accomplish.
There is an abundance of explanations as to why the actions of some are not parallel with the pleas of health care workers or the calls of the CDC. Some have a misplaced or altered understanding of what social distancing means. It is easy to fall into the misinterpretation that it rationalizes private homes or outdoor areas as a replacement for the public, indoor avenues. Doing so seems as if it could be a healthy and accomplishing fix. Yet, it shortens the impact that social distancing is aiming to fulfill. By definition, social distancing works to deliberately increase the physical space between people to avoid spreading illness. When we put ourselves in situations of merely changing the location of our contact, we make it difficult to maintain distance with whom we do not share a home. When we choose to eliminate contact, limit visitors and stay home, we can fully and intentionally adhere to guidelines that are fighting for an end to the virus.
Others have not adopted distancing into their daily lives because of a mindset that enables one to feel untouchable and apathetic. We can witness this debilitating perspective through excuses such as “the coronavirus doesn’t affect young people,” “I could get over it” or “it’s not worth being stuck at home.” While these feelings could be truthful and valid for some, it does not equate to being conclusive and binding for all. Instead, this attitude of self-excusability is a selfish setback. By choosing to think only of the consequences of the virus on your life, you forget those that cannot quickly recover, like an older person or one who has underlying health conditions. You are neglecting the health care professionals who are selflessly putting their lives on the front lines. You are dismissing the employees that have lost hours or jobs, the people who don’t know if they can make rent or the small business owners who may not recover. Social distancing is at the core of the fight to protect lives amidst the coronavirus, limiting the spike of cases and alleviating the burden on the health care system.
Some have made a choice not to stay home because of the finalized implications that the decision will bring. In saying this, the reason why I did not initially want to adhere to the requests of social distancing when the coronavirus first hit was because I wanted to ignore the painful reality right in front of me. This negative mindset that I had stemmed from my inability to grasp the unwelcome change that was about to happen. I believe that this is a reason that some have chosen to continue living in ignorance and heedlessness for social distancing. When you decide to face the horrors of reality, you are opening up the capability to feel the fear that accompanies the loss and uncertainty that comes with change.
These answers to the posed question should not offer discouragement, but in fact, provide the exact opposite. They should compel us to understand the harmful consequences of even one person choosing not to stay home for the benefit of another. They should alert us to reach out to those who continue to ignore the calls to exercise distancing, educating and emboldening them to recognize the impact one person can make. We must remember that we should never permit fear and pain to control us or ignorance and uncertainty to blind us. Most importantly, we must never forget the individuals that will be protected when we decide to stay home.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Battalion

Your donation will support the student journalists of Texas A&M University - College Station. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Battalion

Comments (0)

All The Battalion Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *